E & J Gallo

Some vegan options

3 of 72 products listed are vegan friendly.

  • 3 Vegan
  • 68 Not Vegan
  • 1 Unknown

Double checked about 1 year ago, first checked April 2009

Products (72)

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Company email ·

"During the winemaking process the wine is filtered with fining agents. These are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining and clarifying. Many of these fining agents are derived from animals, some include: Milk, Fish, Eggs, Gelatin (Beef and/or Pork). Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling."

Company email ·

"We do not make any claims about being suitable for vegan or vegetarian diets since there are many variations in fining which may involve ingredients not suitable for all formats of the vegan and or vegetarian lifestyle. Generally, none of these ingredients remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling."

Company email ·

"We do not make any claims about being suitable for vegan or vegetarian diets since there are many variations in fining which may involve ingredients not suitable for all formats of the vegan and or vegetarian lifestyle. Generally, none of these ingredients remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling."

Company email ·

"We do not make any claims about being suitable for vegan or vegetarian diets since there are many variations in fining which may involve ingredients not suitable for all formats of the vegan and or vegetarian lifestyle. Generally, none of these ingredients remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. "

Company email ·

"We do not make any claims about being suitable for vegan or vegetarian diets since there are many variations in fining which may involve ingredients not suitable for all formats of the vegan and or vegetarian lifestyle. However; to the best of our knowledge Familia Camarena does not contain any ingredients of animal origin."

Company email ·

"During the winemaking process the wine is filtered with fining agents. These are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining and clarifying. Many of these fining agents are derived from animals, some include: Milk, Fish, Eggs, Gelatin (Beef and/or Pork). Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. "

Update ·

"I did reach out to Apothic Wines and they are not vegan friendly. They may use animal products during the processing and filtration process."

Company email ·

"During the winemaking process the wine is filtered with fining agents... Many of these fining agents are derived from animals, some include: Milk, Fish, Eggs, Gelatin (Beef and/or Pork)."

Company email ·

"During the winemaking process the wine is filtered with fining agents... Many of these fining agents are derived from animals, some include: Milk, Fish, Eggs, Gelatin (Beef and/or Pork)."

Company email ·

"During the winemaking process the wine is filtered with fining agents. These are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining and clarifying. Many of these fining agents are derived from animals, some include: Milk, Fish, Eggs, Gelatin (Beef and/or Pork)."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email ·

"We do not use any animal, dairy or egg products in the production of New Amsterdam Gin®. The exception to this statement is products containing cream which are using dairy cream which comes from cows."

Company email ·

[same as the June 2018 response]

Company email ·

"We do not make any claims about being suitable for vegan or vegetarian diets since there are many variations in fining which may involve ingredients not suitable for all formats of the vegan and or vegetarian lifestyle."

Company email ·

[same as the June 2018 response]

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying."

Company email ·

Company email (November 2017) re Souverain Wine "Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs. "

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs. "

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs. "

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email ·

"Since each vintage could vary slightly, the information we provide is an approximate range of values for the type of wine. Below is the current approximate value for our Vin Vault Box Wine [followed by a chart saying cabernet sauvignon, chardonnay, and merlot are free of animal products and no animal products are used in processing]

Update ·

"I called RumHaven (877-692-5875) about their Caribbean Rum with Coconut Liqueur. They hadn't responded to the message I sent via their contact form a week and a half ago. Crystal informed me that the product is free of any animal products, and this is stated in the nutrition facts (which aren't on the bottle). The product is bottled in the Caribbean."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Update ·

Chris notes: "Apothic customer service was very helpful and advised that Apothic White is made using beef gelatin for clarifying."

Company email ·

"Treatment of wines and spirts with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email ·

"Thank you for contacting us regarding Winking Owl Winery. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your question about the content of our products and hope the following information will be useful to you. Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs." Company Facebook response (December 2012): [regarding New Amsterdam] "You will be pleased to know that we do not test our products on any types of animals nor do we use any animal products in our Gin and Vodka. We appreciate you taking time to contact us. We hope you will continue to enjoy our fine products for many years to come."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email ·

Company email (April 2012): "Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. "

Company email ·

"We do not use any animal, dairy or egg products in the production of Hornsbys®."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. In regards to manufacturing our wines, that is all done here at the winery."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company email ·

"In response to your inquiry, our gin makers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in gin making for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for gin fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the gin because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling."

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company email ·

"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products." ------ I received this response about Andre (they're owned by G&J Gallo, so I guess we can assume all their different wines are nonvegan). I had to do a bunch of searching to find out Andre was owned by them, so I don't know if you want to add them all to Barnivore to be safe. Here are some other labels they own (it's a long list) ------- FEB 2009 Company Email: RE: Andre June 2009 Company Email: RE: Tisdale Vinyards Our winemakers tell us both animal and fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. Phone call from Dana: January 2010 "Called the 800 number and got the sad answer that their wines aren't vegan because they use animal by-products in the wine to add or accentuate flavors and then filter them out before bottling."

Company email ·

"Da Vinci wines don't contain any animal ingredients, but bovine gelatin is used in the processing of production."