Sandeman

Not Vegan

None of the 27 products listed are vegan friendly.

Double checked about 5 years ago, first checked March 2013

Products (27)

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Updated November 2020 based on the "suitable for vegans" flags on the product pages of https://www.sandeman.com/ At present, NONE of Sandeman's products are considered safe for vegans. Company email (May 2017) re: Sandeman "De acordo com enólogo, este vinho não é tratado, em nenhuma fase, com nenhuma substância derivada de animais, incluindo o mel." [Google Translation: "According to an oenologist, this wine is not treated, at any stage, with any substance derived from animals, including honey."] Company email (February 2013): "If you are looking for a vegan-friendly Port you can choice the Sandeman Vintage (all vintage crops) and Sandeman LBV. All the other range is treated (fined) with gelatin from animal origin. Hope in the future we can use only vegetal gelatin. Sandeman Ports are exclusively produced and bottled in Portugal."