Bollinger Champagnes is Not Vegan Friendly

by Bollinger Champagne
Address: 20, Boulevard du Marechal de Lattre de Tassagny
Champagne, 51160
Phone: 03 26 53 33 66
Fax: 03 26 54 85 59
Checked by: Jane M
Double checked by: Sarah, Sharon, Aaron
Added: over 12 years ago
Double Checked: over 3 years ago

Company email (October 2020)

"We are very engaged on sustainability on a global basis but we cannot claim our wines are organics nor vegan"

Company email (April 2019)
"...our Wine Cellar Manager confirmed there is no egg in our wine process." [See below for the other stuff]

Company email (May 2013):
"Our champagnes contain no animal ingredient (no egg, dairy product, etc…).

Animal product is used once in the processing (fining agent):
The product we use for fining is high quality food gelatin derived from pork (100% natural and edible product), in association with tannins.

The wines are then gently filtered and stabilized (cold stabilization process where the wines are exposed to temperatures below freezing).

Consequently there is actually no remaining trace of gelatin in the wines after this process, but, because it is part of the process we cannot assert that the wines are suitable for vegetarians.

All our wines are made by Champagne Bollinger in our cellars in Aÿ, France."

Company email (January 2012):
"Products of animal origin (gelatin) are used for fining the Champagnes. They actually disappear during the filtration process however we do not refer to the range as “suitable for vegetarians or vegans” since it would be impossible to prove that there is no trace at all in wines."