Company email (April 2024)
"We use Isinglass Finings in our ales due to the nature of our traditional processes. I have run some trials with vegan friendly clarification products with limited success. Around 90% of draught ales and lagers use isinglass still, due to it being by far the best clarification aid in real ale. We do produce a range of Dorset Orchard Ciders that have no finings used. Sorry that my response is not overly helpful, but some brewers do produce a range of unfined cloudy beers and locally I would recommend Gyle 59 and Moor Beer."
Company email (April 2023)
"Palmers bottled ales and Palmers Dorset Pale Keg do not use isinglass in their production so are suitable for vegans. These are packaged by Hepworth and Co Brewing."
Company email (September 2020)
"Our cask ales contain isinglass as a clarification agent (as its traditional real ale) we produce a keg ale called Dorset Pale that does NOT use isinglass. All bottled Palmers ales are also filtered without the use of isinglass. We do not advertise these as ‘vegan’ as it has a negative impact on sales to non vegan drinkers, but they are vegan beers."
Company email (circa 2011)
"Unfortunately for you we do use Isinglass finings in the clarification of Palmers Ales. As you are aware this is rather standard practice in brewing."
Palmers Dorset Pale (bottles)
Not Vegan
This product is listed as not vegan friendly.
What the company told us
Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.
Other products from Palmers Brewery
- Dorset Orchard Ciders Vegan
- Palmers 200 (bottles) Not Vegan
- Palmers Brewery Apple Bee Not Vegan
- Palmers Brewery Dorset First Press Vegan
- Palmers Brewery Dorset Orchard Gold Vegan
- Palmers Brewery Dorset Orchard Haze Vegan
- Palmers Cask Ales Not Vegan
- Palmers Copper Dorset (bottles) Not Vegan
- Palmers Dorset Gold (bottles) Not Vegan
- Palmers Dorset Pale (Keg) Not Vegan