Black Opal

by Black Opal

Not Vegan

This product is listed as not vegan friendly.

Double checked about 16 years ago, first checked June 2007

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Company email: We do not recommend any of our wine for vegans due to the possibility that the wine has been clarified with fining agents such as egg albumin, casein, gelatin and isinglass. The winemakers decide on which fining agents are used and these may vary from product to product and even batch to batch (usually depending on the grapes of that particular year). It is important to note that despite fining agents being used during the winemaking process, they are removed prior to bottling.