Manischewitz Wines is Not Vegan Friendly

by Manischewitz Vineyards
Address: Attn: Consumer Relations, 116 Buffalo Street
Canandaigua, New York, 14424
Checked by: CR
Double checked by: Christopher, Shoshanah, Brenna
Added: almost 16 years ago
Double Checked: about 2 years ago

Company email (December 2020)

"Fining agents may be used in both red and white wines to optimize stability and clarity by removing unwanted particles. While all of our fining agents are approved by the TTB, they may contain trace amounts of allergens such as casein (milk protein), food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components such as shellfish."

Company email (April 2017)
"Yes, Manischewitz Wines are in fact suitable for vegans."

Company Email (circa 2010)
"The fining agent used for Manischewitz wine is called Agar Agar which is a seaweed derivative."

Company email (circa 2007)
Our Kosher for Passover wines, as well as all Manischewitz wines, are made without animal-based fining agents. Instead, Manischewitz wines are made with fining agent derived from diatomaceous earth.
Fining agents are used by the winemaker to optimize wine quality. Some fining agents contain proteinaceous materials or other materials that are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.
All of our fining agents are approved by the Alcohol & Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB, formerly the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms)
If I may be of any assistance in the future, please feel free to contact me at 1-800-836-9463 ext. 67647.