Belhaven Wee Heavy

by Belhaven Brewery

Not Vegan

This product is listed as not vegan friendly.

Double checked about 2 years ago, first checked June 2019

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Company email (April 2024:) "the information remains the same as stated on the website (Barnivore)" Company email (June 2019) "Belhaven beers are made only here and we do use isinglass finings." Company email (May 2011): "Yes we do use Isinglass finings." Company email: "Isinglass finings is used widely throughout the brewing industry and is derived from the swim bladders of large fish. At Belhaven we use it during the maturation and clarification process of all our beers. Although all our bottled and kegged beers are centrifuged and then filtered through a sheet filter it is possible that some residual isinglass maybe present in small amounts in the final product." Email 2 (why are they yelling?) THANK YOU FOR USING OUR WEBSITE. UNFORTUNATELY WE DO USE ISINGLASS FININGS IN ALL OUR BEERS WHICH LEAVES A SMALL DEPOSIT OF ISINGLASS IN THE PRODUCT. OBVIOUSLY THIS WILL NOT COMPLY WITH YOUR DIET. GOOD LUCK IN FINDING A PRODUCT YOU CAN ENJOY.

Other products from Belhaven Brewery