Goose Island Beers is Unknown

by Goose Island Beer
Address: 1800 West Fulton Street
Chicago, Illinois, 60612
Phone: 312-226-1119
Checked by: Michael
Double checked by: Rick, Kevin M, Oliver, Andrew, Elliott, Angela
Added: almost 6 years ago
Double Checked: about 2 years ago

Company email (June 2022)
" As there is no regulatory or universally accepted definition of what makes a food vegan or not, we are unable to comment on the suitability for vegans of every product sold under the Goose Island brand at this time."
(They where asked our "Ask a Company" question which asks about very specific items)

Company email (October 2018)
"All Goose Island products in the UK are vegan. They do not use gelatine or isinglass."

Company email (December 2016):
"As of right now, all beers we currently brew are considered vegan friendly."

Oliver notes (August 2016):
"...after several emails they gave me a reference number and number to call... phoned them last night and they said: "We can't claim to be vegan at this time". I asked him to clarify why, was it the use of isinglass or gelatine, but he would just repeat the same line at me..."

[We tried getting in touch as well but were referred to their website, which has no info that would help here.]

Company Email (circa 2010):
"I am pleased to report that we no longer use gelatin or isinglass finings for any of our beers."

Company email (circa 2007):
"Yes, all of our beers/Sodas are animal origin free. We do not use
processing aides that are animal in origin."

Company Email:
"Most Goose Island Beer Co. beers are free of animal products. There are only two exceptions. Our Summertime Kolsch and all the beers served Cask Conditioned at the Goose Island Brewpubs are filtered with isinglass. All other beers, bottle and keg, are free of animal products. We are looking to change our procedure for Summertime in 2005.

No animal ingredients are used in any Goose Island Beer.""