Gloucester Gold (cask) is Not Vegan Friendly

by Gloucester Brewery
Address: Fox’s Kiln, West Quay
The Docks, Gloucester, GL1 2LG
England
Phone: +441452 668043
Fax:
Email: enquiries@gloucesterbrewery.co.uk
URL: https://www.gloucesterbrewery.co.uk/
Checked by: Peter
Double checked by: Company, Richard
Added: over 6 years ago
Double Checked: over 2 years ago

Company email (February 2020)
"Yes, almost all of our beer is now vegan, the only exceptions being Gloucester Gold and Cascade when served on cask (The bottle and keg versions are vegan).
We have also made a commitment to becoming carbon neutral, with a target date of 2022."

Company email (June 2017)
"We have only three non vegan products: Priory Pale, Gloucester Gold and Cascade in cask. All of our keg, can and bottles and other cask is vegan friendly (and mainly registered with the vegan society)... [for barrel aged products] ask staff as sometimes we can't guarantee if the barrels had vegan products in them."

Company email (October 2016):
"We are really excited at Gloucester Brewery to announce that we are now registered with The Vegan Society. We are proud of our extensive range of vegan beers and are trying to make sure this is as clear to customers as possible. We are currently updating our branding so keep an eye out for The Vegan Society Trademark on pumpclips, bottles and cans in pubs and shops over the next few months"

Company email (August 2016):
"We are trying to move away from using finings in our cask beers but currently some Gloucester Brewery cask beers are clarified by the addition of isinglass finings to the beer in the cask.

"Gloucester Gold, Priory Pale and Cascade 4.2% in the cask are fined used isinglass and are not suitable for vegans.

"All Gloucester Brewery bottled and kegged beers are live conditioned beers and do not contain any added isinglass finings, and are therefore suitable for vegans. Dockside Dark is not fined in the cask, so is also suitable for vegans.

"We have a range of limited and seasonal beers in cask, which are not fined and therefore suitable for vegans. We are looking at ways to make this information more readily available for customers at the bar.

"No other animal derived ingredients or process aids are used in the production of our main Gloucester Brewery beers. We occasionally produce small scale batches sold at the Brewery and our Tap House. These beers are usually suitable for vegans but sometimes use honey or lactose so customers should ask at the bar and the staff will be able to advise.

"All of our beers are produced and packaged at our own site in Gloucester. None are manufactured or bottled anywhere else in the world."

Company email (June 2016):
"We are trying to move away from using finings in our cask beers but currently some Gloucester Brewery cask beers are clarified by the addition of isinglass finings to the beer in the cask.

"Gloucester Gold, Priory Pale and Cascade 4.2% in the cask are fined used isinglass and are not suitable for vegans.

"All Gloucester Brewery bottled and kegged beers are live conditioned beers and do not contain any added isinglass finings, and are therefore suitable for vegans. Dockside Dark is not fined in the cask, so is also suitable for vegans.

"We have a range of limited and seasonal beers in cask, most are not fined and therefore suitable for vegans but we advise to consult the list on barnivore and also ask the publican. We are looking at ways to make this information more readily available for customers at the bar.

"No other animal derived ingredients or process aids are currently used in the production of Gloucester Brewery beers.

"All of our beers are produced and packaged at our own site in Gloucester. None are manufactured or bottled anywhere else in the world."

Company email (November 2015)

"All our bottled beers are suitable for vegans although we don't currently have any official accreditation... All our keg beers are vegan but most casks are not."

Other products by Gloucester Brewery: