Bouchaine Wine

by Bouchaine

Vegan

This product is listed as vegan friendly.

Checked about 12 years ago (May 2014)

What the company told us

Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.

Company email (May 2014): "Humans are the only animals that we put to work making the wines. most of the products you listed are used as fining agents to remove excessive tannins from larger red wines such as cabernet sauvignon. We never have to fine our wines because pinot noir is naturally low in tannin, it’s the least tannic red wine. You’ll be happy to know that most of the fermentation-product vendors are beginning to offer vegetable-derived products (potato-based protein fining agents to replace casein and/or gelatin, for example) so you should be able to enjoy even more wines with a guilt-free conscience. To answer your second question, no, we only bottle wines that we ferment ourselves, from grapes we’ve grown ourselves or that are grown for us under long-term contract."