Francis Coppola Wines is Not Vegan Friendly

by Francis Ford Coppola Winery
Address: 300 Via Archimedes
Geyserville, California, 95441
Phone: 1-877-767-7624
Checked by: Glamour Girlcat
Double checked by: jess r., Dawn, Devin, Genevieve, Amy, Caitlin
Added: about 10 years ago
Double Checked: over 3 years ago

Company email (June 2019)
"Although our normal winemaking practices are to use minimal additions, we cannot guarantee that our wines are (vegan) (gluten free). While we have complete control and tracking over the grape and wine lots that are under our care, we often purchase pressed grapes from outside sources to blend into our wines. When we do this, it isn’t always possible to obtain a full history of the components or additions. Also, while most of the fining agents we use to clarify our wines are approved by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), these agents are manufactured proprietary products. This means that they may or may not contain such items as casein, gelatin, and albumin or a combination of all. However, these fining agents are considered adjuncts and are fined and filtered out, where added."

Company email (December 2017)
"Our wines, and most wines in general, are not vegan. They are typically filtered through casein, albumin, gelatin, and/or other animal-derived substances (known as fining agents) for clarity"

Note from Genevieve (February 2015):
"We were at the Francis Ford Coppola winery today. We waited for 20 minutes just to get an answer about whether or not the wines were vegan. They came back to us saying no wines were vegan. So I don't know about the information that is in the barnivore site."

Company Email (July 2014):
"Our winemaker got back to me and said that all the white wines are vegan, unfortunately the reds are exposed to animal products during the fining process, so they are not."

Company email (February 2013):
"We do have wines that we do not use any animal products when fining our wines. These wines are:
Diamond Pinot Grigio
Diamond Chardonnay"

Company email: January 2011
"For red wines, commonly we will use isinglass, gelatin, or some other fining agent depending on what the wine requires to improve it's sensory impact. These fining agents are removed from the finished wines because they are insoluble and can be filtered out.
Our white wine production commonly utilize PVPP (a synthetic compound) or rarely isinglass (fish protein). However, these compounds are also insoluble in solution, and are removed from the finished wines.
We do not have a standard recipe that we use for all wines because each wine requires its own unique treatment. I feel more comfortable telling you that our white wines contain no animal products, but animal products may have been used in treating them."

Company email:
"We do not have any Vegan wines here. Our whites are Vegetarian and most of the reds are neither."

Note from Glamour Girlcat:
"I recently contacted the Francis Coppola Winery to find out if their Coppola Presents wine contained any animal product.
I received a response via telephone from Celeste, of the Membership Dept. (707)857*1435. The winemakers advised her that their Red wines are processed with egg whites, but the White wines are not. "