Aperol is Unknown

by Davide Campari-Milano S.p.A.
Address: USA
Phone:
Fax:
Email: https://www.facebook.com/AperolSpritz/
URL: https://www.aperol.com/
Checked by: Rory
Double checked by: Giogiana,. Sonia, Nisan
Added: over 11 years ago
Double Checked: 3 months ago

Lots of back and forth on this one.... read the replies, check the weblink and decide.

Company website (April 2024)
"https://www.aperol.com/en-gb/?s=Vegan&post_type=faq&_gl=1%2A1xefvte%2A_up%2AMQ..%2A_ga%2AMjAxMDQxNzk4NS4xNzEwNDk3ODg2%2A_ga_5JTDCTMQ86%2AMTcxMDQ5Nzg4Ni4xLjAuMTcxMDQ5Nzg4Ni4wLjAuMA..%2A_ga_386N6Z443R%2AMTcxMDQ5Nzg4Ni4xLjAuMTcxMDQ5Nzg4Ni4wLjAuMA..&repeat=w3tc

Is Aperol Spritz suitable for vegans?
Yes, Aperol is suitable for vegans."

Company email (March 2023)
"Gli aperitivi del Gruppo Campari, compreso Aperol, non contengono ingredienti di origine animale, pertanto possono essere consumati da persone vegetariane o vegane. È però corretto segnalare, a chi segue una dieta vegana o vegetariana, che nel processo di produzione sono impiegate piccole quantità di gelatina animale come coadiuvante tecnologico che, durante il processo di chiarifica e filtrazione finale, vengono comunque rimosse dal prodotto finito. Grazie, team Aperol

Which translates as: "The Campari Group aperitives, including Aperol, do not contain any ingredient of animal origin, so they can be consumed by vegetarian or vegan people. However, we have to say that if you follow a vegan or a vegetarian diet that during the production process, a small quantity of animal gelatine is used as a technological coadjuvant in the purification process which is eliminated in the final product. Thank you, Aperol team"

Zad notes (February 2018) that Aperol uses food colourings that are tested on animals. Aperol (April 2018) denies this, which is correct from their perspective, because they don't do the tests themselves (they'd be done further up the supply chain.) We're leaving this as green to be more consistent with our sugar policy (a better analogy might be that we don't ask what pesticides are used in the growing of raw ingredients, which would also likely be tested.)

If you're concerned about animal testing, we recommend choosing products that have fewer/zero chemical additives.

Company email (January 2013):
"Below is information that our sole supplier in Italy provided regarding the ingredients of Aperol:

Aperol is a liqueur obtained from an infusion of selected herbs and roots (orange, rhubarb, china, gentian and many others) in a hydro-alcoholic solution (water+alcohol). The colour is mainly obtained from these ingredients used to produce it.

the colorants used for Aperol are not obtained from any animal, they are:
-Orange Yellow S, FD&C Yellow 6 or C.I. 15985
-Allura Red, Food Red 17, C.I. 16035, FD&C Red 40."