Company email (February 2021)
"Our Sournova line doesn't use lactose or any other animal byproducts so should be vegan friendly. The only sour we have that currently uses lactose is Hypernova."
Company email (May 2015): re: Valley of the Heart's Delight
"Not sure how strict you are, but parts of our house wild yeast culture is propogated from a dairy medium, and that same wild culture is used in all of our sour beers. The ingredients themselves in most of our Farm to Barrel beers unless otherwise noted is malt, hops, water, wild yeast culture, and various fruits."
Company email (May 2015): re: Imperial Chocolate Stout
"the beer itself is vegan. The only questionable part would be how the roasted cacao nibs were processed. We sourced those from Dandelion Chocolate so you might want to reach out to them to see if it was processed in a facility that also processes dairy (like milk chocolate). Other than that the beer is vegan!"
Company email (October 2013):
"Of the Almanac family of beers, the only one that is not vegan is our Honey Saison. No other brews contain or use animal products, or are manufactured in a place that would use other methods."
Almanac Beer Co.
Some vegan options
13 of 42 products listed are vegan friendly.
- 13 Vegan
- 29 Not Vegan
Products (42)
- Almanac Barrel Noir Not Vegan
- Almanac Blackberry Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Bourbon Sour Porter Not Vegan
- Almanac Brandy Barrel Peche Not Vegan
- Almanac Cerise Sour Blond Not Vegan
- Almanac Cherry Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Cognac Barrel Noir Not Vegan
- Almanac Dark Pumpkin Sour Not Vegan
- Almanac Devil's Advocate Not Vegan
- Almanac Dogpatch Sour Not Vegan
- Almanac Dogpatch Strawberry Not Vegan
- Almanac Emperor Norton Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve Blackberry Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve Blueberry Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve Citrus Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve No1 Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve No2 Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve No3 Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve No4 Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve Pluot Not Vegan
- Almanac Farmer's Reserve Strawberry Not Vegan
- Almanac Golden Gate Gose Vegan
- Almanac Heirloom Pumpkin Not Vegan
- Almanac Honey Saison Not Vegan
- Almanac Horchata Almond Milk Stout Not Vegan
- Almanac Hypernova Volume I Not Vegan
- Almanac Hypernova Volume II Not Vegan
- Almanac Hypernova Volume III Not Vegan
- Almanac Hypernova Volume IV Not Vegan
- Almanac Hypernova Volume V Not Vegan
- Almanac Imperial Chocolate Stout Vegan
- Almanac IPA Vegan
- Almanac Peach Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Plum Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Raspberry Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Saison Dolores Vegan
- Almanac Sourdough Wild Ale Not Vegan
- Almanac Strawberry Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Tequila Barrel Noir Not Vegan
- Almanac Tropical Sournova Vegan
- Almanac Valencia Gold Vegan
- Almanac Valley of the Heart's Delight Not Vegan
What the company told us
Correspondence on record, with the date of each entry.