Oyster Bay Wines is NOT vegan friendly
|Address:||Level 1, 10 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, PO Box 91 681, Auckland 1142
|Phone:||+64 9 359 7300|
|Fax:||+64 9 359 7359|
|Double checked by:||Andrea, Susanne, Phalyn|
|Added:||about 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 1 year ago|
Products by Oyster Bay Wines:
Not Vegan Friendly
Company email (January 2016):
"Milk and egg products are used in the fining process of our wines, with no trace left in the finished product."
Company email (September 2014):
"After speaking with the New England representative he has advised that Oyster Bay wines could possibly have casein in them as they sometimes use milk based fining agents and/or casein itself."
Company email (May 2012):
"Oyster Bay wines, depending on the variety and vintage are fined with a range of agents that are animal based products.
In the case of the white varieties (Sauvignon Blanc and Chardonnay) the wine normally receives a light fining with whichever fining agent produces the superior result. Historically this has been either a milk product such as casein or skim milk, but has also been with egg whites, gelatine or isinglass (fish).
The red varieties (Pinot Noir and Merlot) receive a similar fining regime except that the fining agents used are normally skim milk or/and egg whites.
Fining agents are considered processing aids as opposed to additives because it’s not expected that any of the added material will remain in the wine by the time it reaches the bottle. Nevertheless animal derived processing aids have been used in the making of all our wines."
Company email (2010):
"Whilst our wines are fined with animal products like milk and egg, all these fining agents are removed prior to the bottling and do not remain in the bottled wine."