J. Lohr Winery is NOT vegan friendly

Address: 1000 Lenzen Avenue
San Jose, CA, 95126
USA
Phone: 408-288-5057
Fax: 408-993-2276
Email: info@jlohr.com
URL: http://www.jlohr.com/
Checked by: Steven R
Double checked by: Lisa, Phalyn, D
Added: over 7 years ago
Double Checked: 4 months ago

Products by J. Lohr Winery:

Company email (June 2016) re: Ariel wines
"We received your email regarding the process for making the wine that used for Ariel. We do clarify some of our wines using animal based products, which are not soluble in the wine and are removed by diatomaceous earth and sterile membrane filtration before bottling. Because wine is a natural based product whose characteristics vary from vintage to vintage, we treat each wine and each vintage differently. The fining agents that we use may be used in some wines for some vintages and then not used for the same wine the following year. Due to the possibility of blending of very small amounts from vintage to vintage (5% or less is allowable by law for wines with alcohol, which are used for Ariel), we cannot assure with 100% certainty that any wine has been produced without using any animal based products."

Company email (January 2016):
"I was forwarded your email regarding our wines. There are a few selected wines that we fine with refined protein made from animal or fish based products. The fining agents are mixed with the wine to remove specific compounds. None of these fining agents are soluble and are removed by filtration. The final product is then filtered through a 0.45 micron membrane that removes all particles, bacteria or microorganisms.

"Because wine is a natural based product whose characteristics vary from vintage to vintage, we treat each wine and each vintage differently. The fining agents that we use may be used in some wines for some vintages and then not used for the same wine the following year. Due to the possibility of blending of very small amounts from vintage to vintage (5% or less is allowable by law), we cannot assure with 100% certainty that any wine has been produced without using any animal or fish based products."

Company email (December 2014):
"Our wines cannot be classified as vegan-friendly as we have used food products for clarifying."

Company email:
"I was forwarded your email regarding fining agents in our wines. There are a few selected wines that we fine with refined protein made from animal based products. The fining agents are mixed with the wine to remove specific compounds. None of these fining agents are soluble and are removed by a diatomaceous earth filtration. The final product is then filtered through a 0.22 micron membrane that removes all particles, bacteria or microorganisms.
Because wine is a natural based product whose characteristics vary from vintage to vintage, we treat each wine and each vintage differently. The fining agents that we use may be used in some wines for some vintages and then not used for the same wine the following year. Due to the possibility of blending of very small amounts from vintage to vintage (5% or less is allowable by law), we cannot assure with 100% certainty that any wine has been produced without using any animal based products."