Bollinger Champagne is NOT vegan friendly

Address: 20, Boulevard du Marechal de Lattre de Tassagny
Champagne, 51160
France
Phone: 03 26 53 33 66
Fax: 03 26 54 85 59
Email: contact@champagne-bollinger.fr
URL: http://www.champagne-bollinger.fr
Checked by: Jane M
Double checked by: Sarah
Added: over 2 years ago
Double Checked: about 1 year ago

Products by Bollinger Champagne:

Company email (May 2013):
"Our champagnes contain no animal ingredient (no egg, dairy product, etc…).

Animal product is used once in the processing (fining agent):
The product we use for fining is high quality food gelatin derived from pork (100% natural and edible product), in association with tannins.

The wines are then gently filtered and stabilized (cold stabilization process where the wines are exposed to temperatures below freezing).

Consequently there is actually no remaining trace of gelatin in the wines after this process, but, because it is part of the process we cannot assert that the wines are suitable for vegetarians.

All our wines are made by Champagne Bollinger in our cellars in Aÿ, France."

Company email (January 2012):
"Products of animal origin (gelatin) are used for fining the Champagnes. They actually disappear during the filtration process however we do not refer to the range as “suitable for vegetarians or vegans” since it would be impossible to prove that there is no trace at all in wines."