Markham Vineyards is NOT vegan friendly
|Address:||2812 St. Helena Hwy North • P.O. Box 636
St. Helena, CA, 94574
|Phone:||(707) 963-5292 x 19|
|Double checked by:|
|Added:||almost 6 years ago|
Products by Markham Vineyards:
Not Vegan Friendly
"The use of fining agents is a very useful tool of the winemaking process at Markham Vineyards. Typically, a light fining is used prior to bottling to improve clarity and remove harsh or bitter tannins. At Markham Vineyards, we do use gelatin on our white wines. On our red wines we will use either gelatin or egg whites are used on extremely tannic red wines. The fining amounts are quite miniscule and range between 1/16 - 1/8 #/1000 gallons of wine for gelatin. Food grade egg whites are purchased in bulk from reputable suppliers, similar to what would be purchased by restaurants and bakeries. Historically, 1-2 egg whites per barrel are used to fine red wines in France, the equivalent of 1 - 2 #/1000 gallons. Here at Markham Vineyards, we use only 1/2 - 1 #/1000 gallons.
While I wish that I could recommend at least one wine that would pass in a vegetarian diet, I am unable to make that claim"