Francis Ford Coppola Winery is NOT vegan friendly
|Address:||400 Via Archimedes
Geyserville, CA, 95441
|Checked by:||Glamour Girlcat|
|Double checked by:||jess r., Dawn, Devin, Genevieve|
|Added:||almost 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 2 years ago|
Products by Francis Ford Coppola Winery:
Not Vegan Friendly
Note from Genevieve (February 2015):
"We were at the Francis Ford Coppola winery today. We waited for 20 minutes just to get an answer about whether or not the wines were vegan. They came back to us saying no wines were vegan. So I don't know about the information that is in the barnivore site."
Company Email (July 2014):
"Our winemaker got back to me and said that all the white wines are vegan, unfortunately the reds are exposed to animal products during the fining process, so they are not."
Company email (February 2013):
"We do have wines that we do not use any animal products when fining our wines. These wines are:
Diamond Pinot Grigio
Company email: January 2011
"For red wines, commonly we will use isinglass, gelatin, or some other fining agent depending on what the wine requires to improve it's sensory impact. These fining agents are removed from the finished wines because they are insoluble and can be filtered out.
Our white wine production commonly utilize PVPP (a synthetic compound) or rarely isinglass (fish protein). However, these compounds are also insoluble in solution, and are removed from the finished wines.
We do not have a standard recipe that we use for all wines because each wine requires its own unique treatment. I feel more comfortable telling you that our white wines contain no animal products, but animal products may have been used in treating them."
"We do not have any Vegan wines here. Our whites are Vegetarian and most of the reds are neither."
Note from Glamour Girlcat:
"I recently contacted the Francis Coppola Winery to find out if their Coppola Presents wine contained any animal product.
I received a response via telephone from Celeste, of the Membership Dept. (707)857*1435. The winemakers advised her that their Red wines are processed with egg whites, but the White wines are not. "