Kona Koko Brown is Vegan Friendly
|by Kona Brewing Company|
|Address:||75-5629 Kuakini Highway
Kailua Kona, HI, 96740
|Double checked by:||Silja, Christy, Scott|
|Added:||about 4 years ago|
Company email (October 2012): [Regarding Pipeline Porter]
"By the strictest definition of vegan, very few beers that we make meet that standard. While our ingredients are all vegan (grain, hops, etc.), we filter the majority of our beers through diatomaceous earth. This is a powdered form of fossilized algae. From Wikipedia, “Diatomaceous earth consists of fossilized remains of diatoms, a type of hard-shelled algae..” If the person is asking whether we use milk sugar or lactose in this beer, the answer is no. it is only our filter media that does not pass the vegan test."
Company email (July 2012):
"we do not use animal ingredients in the beers that we bottle and ship nationally, but some pub beers in the past have been brewed using honey, but that’s not standard practice. We do not use animal products in processing. Our beers are all brewed at our breweries, where the processes are the same."
"Thanks for your interest in the Kona Brewing Company.
Yes, our beers are vegan.
Please let me know if you have any other questions."
"We do not use “any animal ingredients (such as milk, eggs, honey, etc) or are animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product (such as isinglass, gelatin, etc)”in our main/flagship beer styles.
We do however use some plant based finings (whirlfloc G & whirlfloc B) and some of our beers are filtered with diatomaceous earth."
Other products by Kona Brewing Company: