Cannonball Wine is Not Vegan Friendly

by Cannonball Winery
Address: 1290 Healdsburg Avenue, Suite 202
Healdsburg, CA, 95448
USA
Phone:
Fax: 707-921-7905
Email: DiveIn@DrinkCannonball.com
URL: http://www.drinkcannonball.com/index.html
Checked by: Caroline
Double checked by:
Added: over 2 years ago

Company email (March 2012):
"Cannonball Winery does use some animal derived fining agents in our wines. Because of how these agents react with compounds in the wine and because the wines are sterile filtered to 0.45 microns prior to bottling, I believe there are no remaining traces of these animal derived agents. However I cannot prove that.

In the red wines I will sometimes use an albumin based fining agent made from egg whites and occasionally I will use a gelatin based fining agent that could be made from animal products.

In white wines I occasionally, although infrequently, use a isinglass based fining agent and I may use a tiny amount of dry (dehydrated) non-fat milk. In white juice prior to fermentation, I may use an animal derived gelatin based fining agent also.

In the future I hope to be able to use plant derived proteins to replace some of these agents, however they are not yet approved for use in wines in the United States."