Mark West Wine is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Mark West|
|Address:||PO Box 390
Graton, CA, 95444
|Double checked by:||Hillary|
|Added:||over 4 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 2 years ago|
Company email (November 2014):
"Fining agents are used on a lot-by-lot basis to optimize the quality. Some fining agents contain proteinaceous materials. Proteinaceous fining agents are used to react with color and/or tannin molecules to make them removable by subsequent filtration. Both the fining agent, the color and/or tannin it reacts with are removed by the filtration process.
All of our fining agents are approved by the Alcohol & Tobacco Tax & Trade Bureau (TTB, formerly the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms)
One of our standard fining agents contains Micronized potassium casseinate [casein is milk protein], food grade gelatin, egg albumin and other food grade components."
Company phone contact (March 2012):
"I just spoke to them. Their white wines are vegan. Not the Reds"