Freixenet Sparkling Wine is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Freixenet Sparkling Wines|
|Address:||c/ Joan Sala, 2
08770 Saint Saduri d'Anoia, Barcelona
|Phone:||+34 938 917 000|
|Double checked by:||Cassie, Nikolai, Grainne|
|Added:||almost 8 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 5 hours ago|
Update, February 2017:
"We are happy to tell you that we have made some steps forward in this sense and that means that from next harvest 2017 we will stop using fining matters of animal origin (gelatins) so that all our products will be suitable for vegans and vegetarians. Nevertheless, please bear in mind that the production and ageing process of our product is long, so the first bottles suitable for vegan/vegetarians will be released around the end of 2018 (always depending on the ageing period)." [we'll update the status when it's released -ed]
Update on process changes (April 2016):
"Our technical team is informing us that they are currently doing tests with vegetal gelatins (allergen free), of peas and potatoes, as they are conscious of this market demand. Once they have made the tests and we are sure that the results are as effectives as the ones done with gelatin of animal origin, we will make the change... We will need some time to have the results due to our production process that needs over a year (fermentation of the base wine + ageing in the bottle of at least 9 months)."
Company email (September 2014):
"We inform you that in the first production steps of our process, we use a low dose of gelatine in order to clarify the must before fermentation. This gelatine is of pork origin. We are presently investigating the use of vegetal gelatines in order to be able to certify that our products are also suitable for vegans, but we cannot certify it yet."
UPDATE: January 2010
"Gelatine has traditionally been associated with quality wines. Indeed, gelatine appears to be one of the clarifiers with greater agglutinating capabilities, and more selective power in the fining of wine.
In addition to that, gelatine is used in very low doses (average dose is 1 gr. per 100 liters of must). We are talking about one gram of a transformed, purified, and sanitarily harmless product. On top of that, gelatine is eliminated from the wine by filtration, after agglutinating with the existing colloidal materials in the wine.
Another advantage of gelatine is that it offers high productivity during the filtration due to its agglutinating power. Otherwise, a couple of things could happen:
• wine filtration cycles would be considerably shorter, increasing at the same time the filtration costs.
• it considerably would increase the volume of filtering earth needed with the inevitable environmental damages that this represents.
For the production of our Cava, we use both our own base wines and wines selected from other wineries. Some of these wineries have implemented modern methods to separate the lees (Mosto fining) based on modern flotation systems. One of the advantages of these systems is the elimination of filtering earths and, therefore, reducing the environmental impact. One of the key elements in this system is the use of the gelatine.
It is for these reasons that we sincerely believe that using small amounts of gelatine in the transformation process of wine, should not have any effect on consumption by vegetarians.
In conclusion, if we were not allowed to use gelatine, we would have to carry out a rigorous study on the consequences over our products and facilities. This would involve an important work of advising and control over our suppliers, which some of whom have adapted their systems to the separation of lees process described previously.
"Our wines are not suitable for vegans since we use a clarifying agent that has egg whites. "
"Our wines are not suitable for vegans since we use a clarifying agent that has egg whites."