Traquair House Beer is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Traquair House Brewery|
|Address:||Innerleithen, Peeblesshire, EH44 6PW
|Phone:||+44 1896 830323|
|Double checked by:||Eric, Eric G, Jordan|
|Added:||almost 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 4 years ago|
Company email (August 2011):
"Please be advised, a very small amounts of isinglass used in the filtration process."
UPDATE: March 2010
"Thank you for your enquiry regarding Traquair House Ales. I am pleased to inform you that our beers contain no additives of any kind."
UPDATE: February 2010
Company email from Merchant du Vin
"http://www.merchantduvin.com/pages/1_about/organic_vegan_glutenfree_beer_notes.pdf document is currant and correct - other than those of Traquair, no animal products including honey are used in any of our beers."
This status comes via the importer Merchant du Vin, who says:
"All our beers... are vegan except Traquair House, which uses isinglass for fining. (Filtering is usually done at breweries with DE or synthetic media in a plate filter; fining is the process of clarifying beer by adding an ingredient - like egg whites, gelatin, or isinglass - that causes proteins and other haze to settle out in a conditioning vessel.)"