Newcastle Brown Ale is Not Vegan Friendly
|Checked by:||Scott Muir|
|Double checked by:||Kristan, Sharon|
|Added:||over 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||almost 3 years ago|
"Newcastle Brown Ale is not suitable for anyone following a strict vegetarian/vegan diet.
Although Scottish & Newcastle UK products are not tested on animals, we treat our beers with isinglass finings (a solution of collagen prepared from certain fish).
This is the only animal product which Scottish & Newcastle UK ever uses in beer production. Isinglass has been used in beers for centuries as a clarification agent during beer conditioning. In keg and small pack beers, there is very little, if any finings left in the finished product as it settles out with the yeast, and any residues are removed during the filtration process.
In cask beers, however, finings is added to the beer when it is packaged to assist the settling of the live yeast that is an integral part of cask conditioning. Cask beers, then, will always have some finings in the cask, but if the beer has been treated properly in the pub and isn't cloudy, the sediment containing the majority of finings remains at the bottom of the cask and very little carries through to the finished product.
Unfortunately, fish finings work so well that all attempts by brewers to find a suitable alternative have by and large been unsuccessful. There has been no concern over health aspects, as no consumer ill effects have ever been reported over the many, many years that finings have been used.
Although the conclusion drawn is that there is little, if any, finings in the finished product, it is advised that as the product may contain traces of finings we do not say it is suitable for vegetarians/vegans.
Thank you for your interest in Heineken USA.
Heineken USA Consumer Affairs"
"Although Scottish & Newcastle UK products are not tested on animals, we treat our beers (this includes Newcastle Brown in can, bottle and keg) with isinglass finings (a solution of collagen prepared from certain fish)."