FishEye Wine is Not Vegan Friendly

by FishEye Winery
Address: Soledad, CA
Checked by: Ryan R
Double checked by: Katie, Eileen, Gina
Added: over 4 years ago
Double Checked: 6 months ago

Company email (June 2015):
"Fining agents containing gelatin derived from pork and fermentation aids containing casein from milk may be used in the production of Fish Eye wines. In general, these agents are insoluble in wine and are removed during subsequent clarification and filtration.
It is our understanding that if any animal product has been in contact with the wine, we cannot claim it to be vegan."

Company email (July 2012):
"Our company does not use isinglass or gelatin in our wines."

Company email:
"Yes, some of these fining agents could be of animal, dairy, or seafood origin. They are taking out by micro filtration, but traces might be left in wine."

Company email:
A:"Our Fish Eye wines are vegan free!"

Q:"Please clarify this email. "Vegan free." Does this mean vegan safe (no animal/fish products used in the making or fining)? or does this mean not appropriate for vegans?"

A:"Our wine is vegan safe. Sorry for the misunderstanding!"