Redwood Creek Wine is Not Vegan Friendly

by Redwood Creek
Address: Modesto, CA
USA
Phone: 866-221-8571
Fax:
Email: ConsumerRelations@redwoodcreekwine.com
URL: http://www.redwoodcreek.com/
Checked by: Angela
Double checked by: Jack B, Andrew
Added: about 3 years ago

Company email (February 2011):
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email (April 2009):
"Our winemakers tell us both animal and fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."