Sainsbury's Parkin’s Special Bitter is Not Vegan Friendly

by Sainsbury's Supermarkets Ltd
Address: 33 Holborn
London, EC1N 2HT
England
Phone: 0800 636 262
Fax:
Email: customerservice@sainsburys.co.uk
URL: http://www.sainsburys.co.uk/
Checked by: Sami
Double checked by: Marcus, Ciara, Jessica, Finlay, Alison, Brian
Added: about 5 years ago
Double Checked: 9 days ago

Added January vegan items from http://picasso.media.s3.amazonaws.com/PDFs/Allergy-PDFs/Vegan%20product%20list%20Jan%202016.pdf - data pulled Feb 1 2016

Company email (August 2015):
"I've contacted our Communications department and spoke to Mohan. He has confirmed the Sainsbury's Ready to Drink Margarita suitable for Vegans, however the Sainsbury's Ready to Drink Pina Colada isn't suitable for vegans as it contains cream."

Note from reader (December 2015):
Reciente Rioja from Sainsbury's has a vegan mark on the label

Company email (August 2015):
"I have looked into your query, and unfortunately the Sainsbury's House Red wine is not suitable for a vegan diet. This is due to gelatin being used in the filtration process. The product is manufactured in Spain.

"However, currently we have at least 2 other wines that are. These are - Sainsbury's Pinot Grigio, Taste the Difference 75cl, Product Code 6377156 and Sainsbury's Conegliano Prosecco, Taste the Difference 75cl, Product Code 6573987."

Company email (January 2013):
"As this is not one of our own branded products, we have no control over the information which is available on the label and packaging; however, I’m pleased to confirm that the Berryleaf Falls red wine is indeed suitable for vegetarians and vegans."

Company email (December 2012):
"I've double checked and can confirm that this product is suitable for vegans. It may interest you to know that we have a list of our own brand products suitable for vegans available on our website. This is updated monthly and you can view this and our other product guidance lists if you click on the following link; http://www2.sainsburys.co.uk/food/allergies-intolerances/product-guides/product_guides.htm"

Facebook (May 2012):
According to Marcus it says vegan on the label, and according to http://www2.sainsburys.co.uk/NR/rdonlyres/A309CAC1-CC3C-49B3-A286-D6318F39FF51/0/Veganjanuary2010.pdf they pay attention to fining processes in their categorizations.

Company email:
"I have checked all of our systems and Parkin’s special bitter is not suitable for vegans as it does include isinglass. If you require any further information please do not hesitate to get back in touch with us."

Other products by Sainsbury's Supermarkets Ltd: