Burrowing Owl is Not Vegan Friendly
|Address:||100 Burrowing Owl Place RR#1 Site 52
Comp 20 Oliver, BC, V0H 1T0
|Double checked by:||Alex|
|Added:||almost 7 years ago|
|Double Checked:||about 5 years ago|
Company email, Feb 2012:
"When filtering wine prior to bottling, companies can use things like isinglass (from fish bladder,) gelatin, egg whites, and sea shells, among other things. These products grab onto the impurities and make it easier to catch them in the filters, though there are many animal-free alternatives in use.
Yes, we use the listed agents. There are no substitutes to the listed fining agents, there are however alternatives that have the potential to produce similar, yet not always better, results. As a producer of premium wines, we must take this into consideration. Sometimes we use the substitutes when they produce better results. We don't do it to be Vegan."
Note from Kate:
"They use betonite for fining and they use diatomaceous earth for filtering."