Bulmers Pear is Vegan Friendly

by Bulmers - Magners Irish Cider
Address: Dublin
Ireland
Phone:
Fax:
Email: http://bulmers.ie/contact.html
URL: http://www.bulmers.ie
Checked by: Sami
Double checked by: Chrysta, AngelA, Sarah, Gary, Christina
Added: over 4 years ago

[Editor's note] Bulmers Original Irish Cider is sold in the Republic of Ireland (ROI) but is sold outside of ROI as Magners Original Irish Cider.

Company email (June 2013):
"Bulmers Spiced apple and Honey - this contains honey, therefore it is suitable for vegetarians but not vegans.
Bulmers Spiced apple and Rhubarb - not suitable for either vegans or vegetarians"

Update (November 2010):
"I can confirm Bulmers Berry is suitable for vegans."

Company email (February 2010): (response to the October 2008 response)
"Magners and Bulmers are identical products and both brewed in Ireland. Unfortunately our situation or response would be the same. Not suitable for vegan approval."

Company email (January 2010):
"Unlike Bulmers Original, Bulmers Pear is actually suitable for vegans."

Update (January 2010):
Sarah directs us to the Bulmers Light website: "One of the components of an ingredient used in the recipe for Bulmers Light is derived from an animal source, therefore Bulmers Light has been classified as not suitable for vegetarians. This ingredient is widely used in the manufacture of food and drink. The recipe for Bulmers Light is confidential." http://www.bulmerslight.ie/about-us/faqs.asp

Company email (January 2010):
"One of the components of an ingredient used in the recipe for Bulmers/Magners cider is derived from an animal source, therefore Bulmers/Magners has been classified as not suitable for vegetarians. This
ingredient is widely used in the manufacture of food and drink. The recipe for Bulmers/Magners Original Cider is confidential. They are 100% gluten free."

Company email (October 2008):
We use nothing but yeast however because of the way we audit our supply chain we are unable to give the guarantee that all ingredients going into our cider will be suitable for vegetarians or vegans so we would say that we are unable to confirm its suitability. This is the same for all ciders in the Bulmers range.

Note from Sarah:
Magners Irish Cider is the same brand as Bulmers Irish Cider; it is known as Bulmers in Ireland but Magners elsewhere due to a restriction on the name.

Other products by Bulmers - Magners Irish Cider: