DeKuyper is Not Vegan Friendly

Address: c/o Jim Beam Brands Co., 510 Lake Cook Road
Deerfield, IL, 60015
USA
Phone:
Fax:
Email: http://www.beamsuntory.com/cs/contact_us
URL: http://dekuyperusa.com
Checked by: Crystal
Double checked by: AngelA, Steven, Angela, Scott, Nico, Kegan, Jessica, Luther, Jules, Tyler, Robin, dyonne, Pascal, Benjie, Kendra
Added: about 5 years ago

[Barnivore note, April 2014] All DeKuyper's products have been listed as Not Vegan-Friendly at present. There is some conflicting information about their creme drinks and also a mention of casein being used on all of their labels.

Company email (March 2014) from www.dekuyper.nl (links to www.dekuyper.com):
"Beste mevrouw Hoogendoorn,
Wij gebruiken alcohol op basis van graan of melasse.
Verder hebben wij de volgende producten waar dierlijke ingrediënten in zitten:
Room: In alle creamdranken, bijvoorbeeld Pina Colada, Butterscotch cream. Ook in de Butterscotch likeur zitten melkbestandsdelen.
Ei: alle Advocaatsoorten en Tokkelroom.
E120: in de Mandarine Napoleon wordt als kleurstof cochineal (E120) gebruikt.
In het maakproces worden geen dierlijke producten gebruikt.

In de USA worden de producten door Jim Beam Brands Inc. gemaakt, wanneer u informatie over de producten die in de USA verkocht worden wilt hebben kunt u met hen contact opnemen via www.dekuyperusa.com"

[Google translation] "We use alcohol from grain or molasses.
Furthermore, we have the following products where animal ingredients in it:
Room: In all cream drinks, such as pina colada, butterscotch cream. Are milk ingredients. Also Butterscotch liqueur
Egg: All Types Lawyer and Tokkelroom.
E120: the Mandarine Napoleon as cochineal dye (E120) used.
In the process of making no animal products are used.

In the USA, the products are by Jim Beam Brands Inc.. made, if you want information about the products that are sold in the USA you can contact them via www.dekuyperusa.com"

Company email (March 2013):
"The Creme de Menthe does not contain any animal ingredients and there are no animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product."

Company email: (kwaliteitsdienst@dekuyper.nl) April 2011
During production of Peachtree, Crème de Bananes, Blue Curacao and Watermelon no animal products of any kind are used.
Labels on the bottles are glued with casein glue.
Also in the ingredients which are used in the 4 liqueurs no animal products of any kind are used."

UPDATE from Barnivore Community:
"I own a liquor store, and about the Beam Global email thing; Cruzan makes cream rum with real dairy cream in it, the Dekuyper's many have dairy. Even on the back of the bottles like butter Shots says "dairy" and they use capric acid to in most of there liquors. So, thats dairy and animal's fat in Dekuypers.
So Beam Global gave whoever emailed them, a fake as email that almost all comapies give out.
I'll be happy to email you photos of the Cruzan Cream and Butter Shots if you need any more info. Thanks!"

Company email (kwaliteitsdienst@dekuyper.nl)regarding Creme De Menthe white: March 2010
"The Creme de Menthe does not contain any animal ingredients and there are no animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product."

Company email (kwaliteitsdienst@dekuyper.nl)regarding Creme De Menthe white: Sept 2010
"We have received you e-mail asking if Creme De Menthe white is suitable for vegans. We can tell you that our Creme De Menthe white is suitable for vegans."

Company email (kwaliteitsdienst@dekuyper.nl)regarding Creme De Menthe Green: Sept 2010
"The Creme de Menthe Green is also suitable for vegans."

Company email regarding Melon Liqueur
"Our Melon Liqueur is suitable for vegans. The Melon Liqueur does not contain ingredients such as milk, eggs, honey, fish etc."

Company email:
"Thank you contacting Beam Global Spirits & Wine. We always like to hear from our consumers.
Our products are not made with any animal or fish products; however, it is filtered with diatomaceous earth which may contain microscopic animal skeletons, and carbon from coal which may also have been exposed to prehistoric animal parts. By strict standards, our products should be avoided by Vegans, unless the above filtration materials are acceptable.
I hope this helps answer your question."