Somersby Apple Cider is Not Vegan Friendly

by Carlsberg
Address: Carlsberg Canada 1670 Finfar Court unit #1
Mississauga, ON, L5J4K1
Canada
Phone: 905-855-8255
Fax: 905-901-2775
Email:
URL: http://carlsberg.ca/
Checked by: Mallory
Double checked by: Cody, Guerra, Gareth, Zofia, Michael, Per, Wayne, Martin, Madeleine
Added: 5 months ago

Company email (May 2014): re: Somersby Cider
"We cannot guarantee that our cider is vegan, since some of the ingredients used may be clarified using gelatin."

Company email (October 2012):
"Unfortunately, Carling Zest is not suitable for vegetarians or vegans due to the filteration process it goes through."

Company email (June 2012): (Germany)
"Grundsätzlich sind alle unsere Produkte vegan.
Für die Verpackung verwenden wir allerdings handelsübliche kaseinhaltige Leime (z.B. um die Etiketten auf die Flaschen zu kleben). Dies gilt für alle Produkte der Carlsberg Deutschland Gruppe."
Google translation: "Basically, all our products are vegan. For the packaging we use, however, commercial kaseinhaltige glues (eg, the labels on the bottles of glue). This applies to all products of Carlsberg Germany Group."

Company email (February 2012): (Sweden)
[Translated and summarized]: "Carlsberg only use hops, malt, water and yeast during the production of our beers, and no gelatin or isinglass."

Company email (February 2012): (Denmark)
"Der bruges ikke animalske produkter til produktionen af vores øl."
[Translated]: "No animal products are used during the production of our beers."

Company Email for UK: April 2011
carlsberg.feedback@carlsberg.co.uk
"We can confirm that the following Carlsberg products are suitable for
Vegetarians and Vegans

Carlsberg
Carlsberg Export
Carlsberg Elephant Beer
Carlsberg Edge
Carlsberg Special Brew
Holsten Pils
Holsten Export
Holsten Super
Tuborg
Skol (can)
Skol Special
Skol Super

Our cask ales are treated with isinglass finings and are therefore
unfortunately not suitable for vegans or vegetarians."

Company Email for San Miguel Cerveza: Feb 2011 Carlsberg.Feedback@carlsberg.co.uk
Company email (February 2012):
Carlsberg, Denmark: "Der bruges ikke animalske produkter til produktionen af vores øl."
[Translated]: "No animal products are used during the production of our beers."

"We can confirm that there are no animal products used in the production of San Miguel Cerveza and it is therefore suitable for vegetarians and vegans. All San Miguel sold in the UK is brewed under licence by Carlsberg UK. San Miguel is also produced by the Mahou San Miguel brewery in Spain."

Company Email for UK: Aug 2010
carlsberg.feedback@carlsberg.co.uk
"We can confirm that in the UK Carlsberg brands (ie Carlsberg, Carlsberg, Export, Carlsberg Special Brew) do not contain any animal products in their recipes and are therefore suitable for vegans. This is also the case for our Tuborg brand which again is suitable for vegans.

Isinglass finings are used only in the clarification of some of our cask ales."

Company Email for Sweden: (I decided to practice my Swedish with Carlsberg Sverige :) Here's the translation of what he said -Cody)
No, no animal products in our beer.
Using gelatin as fining agents is very rare in Sweden, but there are sometimes abroad (eg England) to top-fermented dark beer ferments in barrels or clear bottle.
This method is not based on any of Carlsberg beers, but these are based exclusively only from malt, hops, yeast and water.

Company email for Canada:
Thanks for your recent enquiry, and re the question I can confirm that we do not use isinglass in Carlsberg Lager.

Fosters Company Email: (Australia)
"All other Foster beer brands made in Australia are not vegan friendly, including Stella Artois, Carlsberg and Kronenbourg"

Other products by Carlsberg: