Ridge Lytton Springs Wine (eggs not listed on label) is Vegan Friendly

by Ridge Vineyards
Address: 17100 Monte Bello Road
Cupertino, CA, 95014
USA
Phone: 408-868-1350
Fax:
Email: wine@ridgewine.com
URL: http://www.ridgewine.com
Checked by: Melissa
Double checked by: Valerie
Added: 6 months ago

Company email (May 2014):
"Thank you for your inquiry about Ridge Wines and more specifically Lytton Springs. Ridge now lists ingredients on all of our labels, so it is easy for you to see everything that is used and in our wines. Pertaining to the Lytton Springs, we may on occasion add tartaric acid and egg whites for tannin fining. We don’t add gelatin, isinglass, or lysozyme. The only animal product even remotely considered is fresh egg whites. If added, it would be listed as an ingredient. Our preference, however, is to avoid adding anything, except sulfur dioxide (which we can’t avoid using as oxidation and random spoilage would create significant issues with wine quality.)

Additionally, our wines are not manufactured or bottled anywhere else in the world."

Company email:
"To try and answer your question, as a general matter of winemaking practice, we do not use any animal products, however, this is not 100% the case. There are infrequent times when, for the purpose of tannin reduction in reds, egg whites are used to fine the wines, and isinglass is very occasionally used to remove yellow pigments in chardonnay. So while these are by far and away the exceptions to the rule, it would not be accurate to classify us as strictly vegan. I should think vegan-friendly might be more appropriate. Ridge is in fact at the forefront of a push to see wine labels follow food industry practices of including all ingredients on wine labels. Should this movement succeed, this would ideally make your task a much easier one!"

Other products by Ridge Vineyards: