Peter Vella Wine is Not Vegan Friendly

by E & J Gallo
Address: USA
Phone: 1-877-687-9463
Fax:
Email: http://www.gallo.com/contact/ContactUs.html
URL: http://www.gallo.com/
Checked by: Irena
Double checked by: Lori, Dana, AngelA, Sara, Gina, Andrew, Anthony, Tess - Marie, Zandy, Veronica, Sam, Nathan, Denise, Anne, Yolanda, Laura, Laura K, Roland, Cindy, Leah, Robyn
Added: about 5 years ago

Company email (July 2013): [in regard to Famila Camarena]
"Treatment of wines and spirts with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email (May 2013): [in regard to Delicia]
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email (March 2013): [in regard to André]
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products.

Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email (December 2012): (regarding Winking Owl Winery)
"Thank you for contacting us regarding Winking Owl Winery. We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your question about the content of our products and hope the following information will be useful to you.

Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company Facebook response (December 2012): [regarding New Amsterdam]
"You will be pleased to know that we do not test our products on any types of animals nor do we use any animal products in our Gin and Vodka.
We appreciate you taking time to contact us. We hope you will continue to enjoy our fine products for many years to come."

Company email (November 2012): [regarding Darkhorse]
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."

Company email (August 2012): [regarding Darkhorse]
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email (April 2012):
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company email regarding Apothic Red: January 2011:
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company Email regarding Naked Grape: May 2011
ConsumerRelations@ejgallo.com
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. "

Company Email regarding Hornsbys: May 2011 ConsumerRelations@ejgallo.com
"We do not use any animal, dairy or egg products in the production of Hornsbys®."

Company Email regarding Tisdale, April 2011:
Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products.
[Editor's (snarky) note/interpretation: "waaah, don't make us learn new ways of doing things!"]

Company Email regarding Peter Vella Vineyards: Jan, 2011
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

Company Email in regards to Madria Sangria: Oct 2010
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company Email in regards to Wild Vines: Oct 2010
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company Email in regards to Bridlewood: March 2011
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling.

In regards to manufacturing our wines, that is all done here at the winery."

Company Email in regards to MacMurray Ranch. Feb 2011
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company Email in regards to Tisdale:
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. "

Company Email in regards to Da Vinci:
"Da Vinci wines don't contain any animal ingredients, but bovine gelatin is used in the processing of production."

Company Email in regards to Bear Flag wine:
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products."

------
I received this response about Andre (they're owned by G&J Gallo, so I guess we can assume all their different wines are nonvegan). I had to do a bunch of searching to find out Andre was owned by them, so I don't know if you want to add them all to Barnivore to be safe.

Here are some other labels they own (it's a long list)

-------
FEB 2009 Company Email: RE: Andre
June 2009 Company Email: RE: Tisdale Vinyards

Our winemakers tell us both animal and
fish products (e.g., commercial, food-grade gelatin) have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally no gelatin remains in the wine
because it reacts with the wine components, as it clarifies, and forms a sediment which is removed by filtration prior to bottling. Exceptions to this are a few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling and therefore may not be completely free of animal products.

Phone call from Dana: January 2010
"Called the 800 number and got the sad answer that their wines aren't vegan because they use animal by-products in the wine to add or accentuate flavors and then filter them out before bottling."

Company email regarding New Amsterdam.
"In response to your inquiry, our gin makers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in gin making for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for gin fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the gin because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling."

Other products by E & J Gallo: