DeKuyper Cranberry Liqueur is Not Vegan Friendly

by Beam Global Spirits & Wine
Address: 510 Lake Cook Road
Deerfield, IL, 60015
Checked by: Crystal
Double checked by: AngelA, Steven, Angela, Scott, Nico, Kegan, Jessica, Luther, Jules, Tyler, Robin, dyonne, Pascal, Benjie
Added: 5 months ago

Company email (April 2014):
"As a matter of policy, we don't share specific information regarding our formulas or ingredients. We reviewed the formula for Kamchatka Vodka on 04/07/14 and can confirm that the product is Vegan acceptable."

Company email (March 2014):
"Gilbey’s Gin is vegan friendly."

[Barnivore note, April 2014] All DeKuyper's products have been listed as Not Vegan-Friendly at present. There is some conflicting information about their creme drinks and also a mention of casein being used on all of their labels.

Company email (March 2014) from (links to
"Beste mevrouw Hoogendoorn,
Wij gebruiken alcohol op basis van graan of melasse.
Verder hebben wij de volgende producten waar dierlijke ingrediënten in zitten:
Room: In alle creamdranken, bijvoorbeeld Pina Colada, Butterscotch cream. Ook in de Butterscotch likeur zitten melkbestandsdelen.
Ei: alle Advocaatsoorten en Tokkelroom.
E120: in de Mandarine Napoleon wordt als kleurstof cochineal (E120) gebruikt.
In het maakproces worden geen dierlijke producten gebruikt.

In de USA worden de producten door Jim Beam Brands Inc. gemaakt, wanneer u informatie over de producten die in de USA verkocht worden wilt hebben kunt u met hen contact opnemen via"

[Google translation] "We use alcohol from grain or molasses.
Furthermore, we have the following products where animal ingredients in it:
Room: In all cream drinks, such as pina colada, butterscotch cream. Are milk ingredients. Also Butterscotch liqueur
Egg: All Types Lawyer and Tokkelroom.
E120: the Mandarine Napoleon as cochineal dye (E120) used.
In the process of making no animal products are used.

In the USA, the products are by Jim Beam Brands Inc.. made, if you want information about the products that are sold in the USA you can contact them via"

Company email (March 2014): re: Pinnacle Vodka
"Unfortunately, Pinnacle does not conform to vegan standards."
[Barnivore note: Pinnacle was formerly produced by White Rock Distilleries.]

Barnivore note (February 2014): Canadian Club, Courvoisier, DYC, Fundador, Kuemmerling, Larious, Maker's Mark and Sauza are owned by Pernod Ricard, a major funder of bullfighting.

Company email (February 2014): re: Old Overholt, Old Grand-Dad and Old Crow
"The Olds are vegan friendly."

Company email (March 2013):
"The Creme de Menthe does not contain any animal ingredients and there are no animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product."

Company email (January 2013):
"The following Sauza Products are vegan friendly
Sauza Blue Tequila Reposado 80°
Sauza Blue Tequila Silver 80°
Sauza Giro Gold Tequila 80°
Sauza Giro Sivler Tequila 80°
Sauza Hornitos Anejo Tequila 76°
Sauza Hornitos Anejo Tequila 80°
Sauza Hornitos Plata Tequila 76°
Sauza Hornitos Plata Tequila 80°
Sauza Hornitos Reposado Tequila 76
Sauza Hornitos Reposado Tequila 80°
Sauza Tres Gen Plata Tequila 76°
Sauza Tres Gen Plata Tequila 80°"

Company email (April 2012):
"Unfortunately, Pucker Vodka does not conform to vegan standards for good."

Company email (January 2012):
"Jim Beam Red Stag currently is not a Vegan Product."

Company email: ( April 2011
During production of Peachtree, Crème de Bananes, Blue Curacao and Watermelon no animal products of any kind are used.
Labels on the bottles are glued with casein glue.
Also in the ingredients which are used in the 4 liqueurs no animal products of any kind are used."

Company email (April 2011):(
"We would like to thank you for your kind interest in our brand and are pleased to confirm that our Courvoisier cognacs do not contain any animal product and that we use no animal products during the production process."

Company email (December 2010):(
"There are no animal ingredients used in the Cognac production process.
The honey wording mentioned is only referent to a natural flavor part of the Cognac bouquet close to honey flavor."

UPDATE from Barnivore Community:
"I own a liquor store, and about the Beam Global email thing; Cruzan makes cream rum with real dairy cream in it, the Dekuyper's many have dairy. Even on the back of the bottles like butter Shots says "dairy" and they use capric acid to in most of there liquors. So, thats dairy and animal's fat in Dekuypers.
So Beam Global gave whoever emailed them, a fake as email that almost all comapies give out.
I'll be happy to email you photos of the Cruzan Cream and Butter Shots if you need any more info. Thanks!"

Company email ( Creme De Menthe white: March 2010
"The Creme de Menthe does not contain any animal ingredients and there are no animal products used in the processing/filtration of the product."

Company email ( Creme De Menthe white: Sept 2010
"We have received you e-mail asking if Creme De Menthe white is suitable for vegans. We can tell you that our Creme De Menthe white is suitable for vegans."

Company email ( Creme De Menthe Green: Sept 2010
"The Creme de Menthe Green is also suitable for vegans."

Company email regarding Melon Liqueur
"Our Melon Liqueur is suitable for vegans. The Melon Liqueur does not contain ingredients such as milk, eggs, honey, fish etc."

Company email:
"Thank you contacting Beam Global Spirits & Wine. We always like to hear from our consumers.
Our products are not made with any animal or fish products; however, it is filtered with diatomaceous earth which may contain microscopic animal skeletons, and carbon from coal which may also have been exposed to prehistoric animal parts. By strict standards, our products should be avoided by Vegans, unless the above filtration materials are acceptable.
I hope this helps answer your question."

Other products by Beam Global Spirits & Wine: