Mia Dolcea Wines is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Mia Dolcea|
|Double checked by:|
|Added:||almost 2 years ago|
Company email (December 2013):
"Our winemakers tell us that gelatin and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in winemaking for centuries and are recognized as traditional methods for wine fining, or clarifying. Generally, none of these products remain in the wine because they are removed by filtration prior to bottling. A few of our premium wines that undergo minimal or no filtration prior to bottling are exceptions and therefore may not be completely free of animal products. We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs.
Treatment of wines with milk or egg products is a common wine industry practice and is done by winemakers as needed to provide the appropriate treatment and clarity to the wine. These milk or egg products are removed during the filtering of the wines after treatment. In addition, we go one step further to verify that milk or egg products are not detectable after filtration by testing each lot of wine that is treated. However, our E. & J. Cask & Cream and ChocolatRouge products do contain dairy base products in the cream which is sourced from Holland.We hope that with this information you can make an informed decision that meets your dietary needs."