Campo Viejo Wine is Not Vegan Friendly
|by Campo Viejo|
|Address:||Camino de Lapuebla 50, 26006
|Phone:||+34 941 279900|
|Fax:||+34 941 279901|
|Double checked by:|
|Added:||almost 2 years ago|
Company email (November 2013):
"Campo Viejo will use skim milk/caseinate and egg white for fining of wines (which are not excluded for a vegetarian diet). These materials are fully removed from wines due to subsequent clarification processes and are no longer detectable using best practice analysis techniques. Red wines will generally only be fined with egg white, white wines only with skim milk/caseinate.
Occasionally winemakers may use gelatine, which as such will not be suitable for vegetarians. However, as with milk and egg white, it is expected that gelatine will be completely removed from the finished wine in question (only used for white wine)
To summarise – all of the egg white / milk or gelatine can be used for fining of the wine. These ingredients are removed from the wine at a later stage of the wine making process. Although these ingredients are removed – we cannot guarantee they are 100% removed. In additional to this – some vegetarian may decide even if the gelatine (which will come from an animal) is 100% removed it nevertheless has had contact with the finished product.
It is for this reason we declare that Campo Viejo wines are not suitable for a Vegetarian or Vegan diet."