The Glenrothes is vegan friendly

Address: c/o BB&R Spirits Ltd, 3 St James’s Street
London, SW1A 1EG
England
Phone:
Fax:
Email: contactus@bbrspirits.com
URL: http://www.theglenrothes.com/uk/
Checked by: Jordan
Double checked by: Craig
Added: over 2 years ago

Products by The Glenrothes:

Company email (April 2013):
[Editor's note: Craig verified that "sea shells" as referred to in the March 2012 response would actually be diatomaceous earth, thereby making Macallan vegan-friendly.]
"Diatomaceous earth also known as D.E., diatomite, is a naturally occurring, soft, siliceous sedimentary rock that is easily crumbled into a fine white to off-white powder.

Diatomaceous earth consists of fossilized remains of diatoms, a type of hard-shelled algae. It is used as a filtration aid in the chill filtration process when we make all of our whiskies. This is made into a paper that the whiskies will then be passed through.

As this material is made from fossilised algae it does affect the vegan whisky consumer.
If a whisky is un-chill filtered then you will have no problems with our whiskies."

Company email (May 2012):
"We have consulted our production team who have confirmed that as part of the filtration process, the sheets we use include material made from sea-shells so we cannot state The Glenrothes is suitable for vegans."